4th-5th Grade

Dear Parents/Guardians,

 

In order to ensure open communication, our team would like to share some frequently asked questions and answers as outlined below.

 

How often will my child have homework?

ELA CORE- Reading passage given on Mondays, due Fridays

Language Arts- dependent on week

Math- given daily Mon.-Thurs., due the next day

Science/ Social Studies- study skills daily, and occasional projects

 

Grading Communication:

 

How do I know what grade my student is getting?

Aeries Parent Portal is available for you to keep up to date with your child’s grades. You will be receiving information with your access code and how to sign up soon.

 

Homeroom teachers will send you a message via REMIND asking you check the parent portal for missing assignments from all classes, on or around the 15th of every month. Students will have two weeks from when the REMIND message was given to turn in any missing assignments for no higher than a 65% C grade. 

  • Work may only be made up within the current month.Work from previous months will not be accepted.

 

Can my student complete make-up work?

 

Absences - Students are responsible for collecting any missing assignments and homework, and it must be returned within a week.  Parents may not call the day of the student’s absence to request missed work to be ready by the end of the school day.

 

If you anticipate your child missing school for 2-3 days, and are going to request work, teachers must be given a minimum of 48 hours to prepare the work.

  • Students will only receive credit if work is 100% completed upon their return.If students return without work they’ll receive no credit.

 

What are the retake policies?

Your child has the opportunity to retake a test if they score a D or below with parent signature.  However, students may not retake quizzes.

Can my student complete any extra-credit to increase their grade?

Student grades are determined by their performance on carefully crafted tasks that are designed to show proficiency. Students need to complete their assigned work before they are given extra-credit opportunities. Extra-credit will be offered at teacher’s discretion and usually only as an extension of assigned classwork.

How can I get in touch with my student’s teachers?

 

The best way to communicate with the 4th grade team is through email or the REMIND app.  If you do not have access to email you may call the front office to leave a message. Please leave a working phone number so that you may be contacted.

 

Scheduling a conference:

 

  • 4th-8th grade at Paakuma’ K-8 is considered “middle school” therefore there is no scheduled parent/teacher conferences during the year.
  • You may schedule a 20-minute conference with a teacher if you have specific concerns.
  • Please make arrangements a minimum of 24 hours in advance.

 

Sincerely,

The Paakuma’ 4th Grade ELA, Math, Science & History Teachers


Click Here to Download the 4th and 5th Grade Policies and Procedures

Grade

Teacher

Email

4

Ms. Evans

Janet.evans@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

4

Ms. Maciel

Consuelo.maciel@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

4

Ms. Ruha

Marnee.ruha@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

4

Mrs. Sclafani

Amy.sclafani@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

4

Ms. Sorrell

Lantonya.sorrell@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

5

Mrs. Barragan

Ana.barragan@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

5

Mr. Platt

Mark.platt@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

5

Mr. Ramirez

Ramon.ramirez@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

5

Ms. Sirls

Sara.sirls@sbcusd.k12.ca.us

5

Ms. Sorrell

Latonya.sorrell@sbcusd.k12.ca.us


4-5 Classroom Expectations
k-5 Playground Expectations